You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles.

Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

You should write at least 250 words.

Some people think it is significant to spend spare time on mind improving activities such as reading or doing word puzzles, while some argue that it is more important to give the brain a rest during leisure time. In my opinion, I believe that it is essential to rest the mind for better work performance.

On the one hand, mind improving activities can help people to gain more knowledge and learn more skills. Some people would like to spend their leisure time reading different categories of book, such as history or math, which is one good way to gain knowledge and add value to themselves. Moreover, mind improving activities allow people to learn some certain skills which could apply to their work. For example, reading books about business management helps business owners to generate an idea about managing a company, or doing word puzzles improve their problem- solving skill.

On the other hand, some people would like to use their leisure time to take a break time from their busy working schedules. There are some equally meaningful activities for people who would like to rest their mind, such as a family picnic or meeting new people from their community. These activities are important for people to build their social skills which cannot be learned by reading or doing word puzzles. More importantly, there are lots of people who are required to work overtime due to the competitive work environment, it is critical for these people to rest their brain in their spare time for further performance in work.

Finally, in my opinion, it is necessary to do self-care activities for maintaining mental health and well- being. People can decide what activities to do in their spare time as long as the activities are helpful to reduce stress. For some careers, workers could suffer from mental illness due to high level of stress at work. For example, social worker, most social workers are required to work with the vulnerable in the society and witness lots of horrible events, such as child removal, some would suffer from PTSD because of the stress and lack of self- care. Therefore, it is significant that people take their time and decide what activities are best to improve their mental status.

To conclude, either doing mind improving activities or rest the mind during leisure time, there are some positive impacts on the individuals. People should make sure that they have enough time to rest their mind to avoid developing poor mental health.