The fast food industry has negative effects on our health the environment and family eating habits Do you agree or disagree

Fast food industry has gained a lot of popularity in last few years. Many people fear its negative impact . As, consumption of fast food affects an individual's health due to high content of preservatives. Plastic packing of the food products contributes to the waste generated and is affecting our surrounding and lastly, it has badly affected the eating habits of an entire family. I totally agree with the above mentioned statements.

People are attracted towards fast food because of its easy to make and is delicious to mouth. Today in fast paced life, it gets difficult for working people to cook proper meals, so most of the time they rely on such junk food. This helps them to save some time for themselves. A survey conducted by Economic Times stated that the sale of fast food products peaks during office lunch hours. Even though it is convenient, the long term effect of consuming junk food are deleterious.

There are many disadvantages related to fast food consumption. First, these food have zero nutritional value, and are fully loaded with calories. Apart from this, it contains preservatives that are harmful to the body. So eating junk food have been reported to relate to obesity, diabetes and cardiac problems. Second, as these food items are packed in a plastic wrapper, with the increasing demand for such food, the total non degradable waste produced will damage the environment to a great extent. For example, Ahmedabad municipal corporation recently reported that plastic waste from food products contributed 78 %of total waste generation.

Lastly, lack of time to prepare food has led people to eat junk food. As nowadays both parents are working and they do not have time to prepare food for themselves as well as for children. So, this situation has led to a habit of eating outside, and it is affecting the health of entire family. So it becomes necessary to find alternative ways to eat healthy food in order to avoid future health related complications.

In conclusion, lot of health problems can be avoided when healthy eating habits are instill within a family. Also, environmental damage control can also be made by limiting packaged food products. So, even though fast food is easily made and is available at a cheap price, its negative impact shall not be ignored.