Fast food is now universally in most countries and is becoming increasingly popular. Some feel this is a positive trend, while others do not.

What are your opinion on this?

Never has fast food been as ubiquitous as today. Yet, there remains some disagreements as to whether this trend is positive or negative. I personally believe both views are valid and fast food is a double-edged sword.

On the one hand, it is an indisputable fact that fast food has revolutionized the way people eat. In the past, preparing a meal entailed long hours going to the market and cooking in the kitchen. Now, however, people only need to wait a few minutes at the fast food restaurant like KFC, Lotteria to enjoy a delicious meal. This is especially helpful and convenient for those who are always under a massive amount of work and have less time to cook. Moreover, fast food is tastier and more affordable than a conventional meal and definitely, it is more nutritious than instant noodle, which is a common choice for teenagers.

On the other hand, consuming excess fast food results in several serious health problems. Foods such as fried chicken, hamburgers, and pizzas – which are high in salt and fat – are responsible for obesity, diabetes, heart disease and cancer. So, although fast food is reasonably priced and convenient the cost and inconvenience of treating diseases in the later life is significant. In other words, maybe fast food is beneficial in the short term, its long-term effects are detrimental.

By the way of conclusion, I think that although fast food is a good choice for busy workers or students who live on a budget due to its low cost and convenience, I believe that the government should make campaigns to raise the awareness about the negative effects of fast food in particular or junk food in general.