A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the use of others is rapidly declining.

Is it a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, language trend has become a controversial issue in many parts of the world. It is argued that the popularity and rarity of certain languages in various countries can be considered as a positive change. Nevertheless, I do not advocate that this trend makes perfect sense for some reasons.

On the one hand, certain languages are well-advised to be offered in different places to create more job opportunities. For example, bilingual and multi-bilingual people can get a permit to become stuff easier because they can apply to several countries not only in their own hometowns but also in oversea countries. Also, the benefit can be brought to certain places whose popular languages by broadening their images. Indeed, to avoid being isolated and lagging behind others, people will try hard to be proficient at these languages by learning theory and discovering cultures.

On the other hand, I am inclined that reducing in a few languages can take a heavy toll on people whose mother languages. Firstly, for someone who does not live in good financial health, they cannot join extra classes to enhance the level of expertise. This can hurt the development of these countries if they cannot exchange information with other prosperous countries. Secondly, it can lengthen the gap between the developed levels of countries in the world. To be more precise, overseas students will lag behind their friends unless they can understand the educational training written by widespread languages.

In conclusion, while the difference of using language trend can help people to get more chances to be employed and the whole countries can widen their images, I claim that its detriments outweigh its advantages for some aforementioned reasons. I suggest that people should know at least 2 languages apart from their mother tongues.