Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen or pencil.

What are the reasons for this?

Is this a positive or a negative development?

There are fewer people who prefer to write by using a pen or a pencil today, instead they opt for new methods. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this trend and the positive effects of it.

The decreasing popularity of a traditional writing method can be due to several reasons. The first reason is that typing is a clearer way to depict information. Handwriting is more time-consuming and illegible than typing, especially when under time pressure to finish an essay or a thesis. When people write by hand under time pressure, they cannot ensure the legibility of their own handwriting, thereby causing difficulties while reading. However, by typing using applications such as Google Docs or Words, they can type in many fonts while ensuring the clarity of information for readers. Moreover, instead of writing traditionally, using AI to write requires less effort and time for individuals. They can still note down multiple paragraphs by calling an AI assistant to help in minutes instead of hurting their biceps by writing down on paper for several hours.

In my opinion, I believe that this phenomenon is positive in some aspects. First, it can help people save time while noting information. For example, when being given a 20-page thesis, many students prefer to type and print instead of writing on paper because it can help improve the readability of information for the professors. Another reason is that the traditional way of writing is not applicable to every situation, especially in a time where technology dominates. In a situation when people need to jot down information unexpectedly, such as phone numbers, they cannot always have a pen or paper to take note. By using their own phones or computers, individuals can still store important information without having to carry a stack of paper.

In conclusion, the trend of people not writing traditionally is because of the convenience of typing in terms of readability and effort. However, I believe that this phenomenon can be beneficial by requiring people less time to take note and allowing people to store or write information without using paper.