The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Over the past decades, four-wheel vehicle known as car has been playing a pivotal role in human life especially nowadays. Car made it first appearance at the United Kingdom in the year 1888. A couple years later in 2000, it was believed that up to 29 million vehicles were driven on the street in Britain. Other types of transportation are expected to be encouraged by some individuals, moreover, they supposed that international regulations should be taken into account the usage and ownership of car. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the statement given because there are several reasons for people not to own a car, such as poverty and there are also problems occurred from using car.

On one hand, car has brought plenty benefits to humanity such as a convenience of travelling, and a useful personal area inside. To be specific, people nowadays are living in the globalizing world with full-speed move. Owning a car provides a person choices and opportunities to go as far as they wish. For instance, when someone planned for a trip in faraway tourist attraction which requires a long journey, it is better to spend time on his own units and follow his own pace. A personal car could afford these conditions for its owner. Consequently, car is a useful innovation for human.

On the other hand, owning vehicles brings a load of expense to the owner, and causes many unfavorable conditions to others as well. First, to have a personal car, individual will have to collect an enough amount of money to buy one, and another amount of money for its reparation. Driving thousand miles definitely leads to mechanical problem with the motor inside. Second, driving car under national laws with crowded numbers of cars and other transports contribute to problems on road, if someone does not follow the rules which it is obvious during rush hours in present.

As a consequence, I think other alternative forms of transport should now be promoted to country's citizen since it brings more options to them for owning a vehicle. A Motorcycle seems to be a great alternative for people with less budget or in remote area because it is lower in price and adjustable for driving in unorganized road. Moreover, international laws should be introduced to control how people use and own a car as, while other vehicles shall follow the same regulation as well. These will make it easier for the authorities to govern the traffic in the territory.

In conclusion, I believed that global and also Britain regulations should be used with automobile usage control with the similar level for all other kinds and alternative transports need to be encouraged by the authorities to provide a wider range of options for people to own one, because there might be some reasons like poverty that prevents oneself from having a personal car. Also, as I have mentioned earlier, there shall be a noticeable change for such a situation like accident caused by cars.