The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the issue of alternative forms of vehicles for cars is of current interest because the level of population is growing sharply what causes the increase of the transport using. There is about 29 million cars was made in Britain since 1888. But today people started to think abour forbidding cars and introducing non-motorized vehicles like rickshaws. Personally, I partly agree with the idea that alternative forms of transport should be used and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use because the amount of using cars affects people in a hasty manner but they cannot be forbidden.

From the one side, cars are very convenient in use. Firstly, one can get to the place faster and with bigger comfort rather than on underground railway or by bike. Secondly, sometimes the price for car supplies is more reasonable than permanent using of, for example, taxi because frequent travelling on long distances with taxi driver usually costs more.

From another side, using this kind of vehicle has many disadvantages. First of all, it is the emission of gases and, as a result, air pollution. There are many environmentally friendly transports but most of them are not as convenient as cars. For example, bike and rollers are useful for person's health but mostly it takes a great deal more time to get to the place. What is more, in many countries there are no roads for bikes, so people put their health in risk. In addition, there is traffic jams due to the amount of vehicles. Sometimes ones cannot get on their work in time even getting by car because of this people become stressful and disappointed.

Finally, I believe that there should be used fewer cars to save the planet and their health. Nevertheless, they cannot be forbidden or encouraged by the international laws because cars are very comfortable and save a lot of our time. So, it only depends on humanity whether they will change their way of using transport or not.