Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people believe that today traditional and religious festivals became meaningless. All that one wants to see is something vivid and thrilling, without immersing into history, without remembering and respecting the past of their nation. Personally, I suppose that it is a wrong point of view. In my opinion, people can enjoy themselves and respect the traditions of their nation at the same time.

Traditional festivals all over the world teach people humanity, morality and ethnics. Firstly, with nowadays technologies those festivals and concerts became a great deal more interesting to observe. So, people have started to visit them more often and started to know about their culture and history more. Secondly, such events connect people, they make people closer. They show all the beauty and individual character of the country, nation and its traditions. As an example we can take international spring holidays in Ukraine such as Maslenitsa and Easter. There are many customs which people still respect. For instance, making crepes on Maslenitsa and going to church with Easter basket filled with eggs and a pie on Easter.

Concerning remembering traditions, today, in modern society some people have forgotten or did not know the history of their nation. Nevertheless, it cannot be said that today it is absolutely meaningless or forgotten because many people, especially older generations, try to give us all the information about customs that they have got. Moreover, they are doing a huge job to promote traditional and religious holidays and to make them widespread and respected organizing festivals, concerts and other events.

To summarise, it is up to evetybody to decide follow the truditions ot not, but it does not mean that ones have forgotten their national heritage and visit festivals only to enjoy themselves. Traditional and religious holidays are important and still many people keep to their customs, try to make them more popular and share their knowledge. So, while there are these people the nation won`t lose its unity.