Fixed punishment. Take into account circumstances and motivation.

How punishments should be inflicted has been a question of contention almost forever. While there are some people who think that punishment should be fixed for a certain type of crime, others say that circumstances and motivation of crimes should be considered. In this essay I will discuss both these views and reach a logical conclusion.

People who say that punishment should be fixed for a type of crime often tend to derive this from the concept of equality of justice. In the light of that view, law should be blind. People who committed a certain type of crime should be punished equally, without compromising the law. And indeed this is beneficial to establish a strong and strict judicial system for any society.

Although punishment should not be discriminated, there are situations that are important to considered. We have to take into account under what circumstance a person committed a crime and what his/her motivation was. Furthermore, the age and psychological conditions of the criminals should be considered. Without considering these we cannot reach a correct and fair decision. For instance, if a someone murders another human being, it is important to know whether the person who was murdered was in any way a threat to the murderer person. If the convict was in a life threatening situation then there is a chance that his act is justified to some extent. Keeping this in mind, it is crucial to consider these things before punishing someone.

From the above argument, it is evident that the nature of the individual crime is essential in determining someone’s punishment. Otherwise the justice would not be complete.