Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Other disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Each country has its own customs and manners. And it is a topic of contention whether visitors to other countries should follow loacl customs and behaviors or not. In this essay I will discuss both of these views and reach a logical conclusion.

There is a famous proverb that when in Rome do as the Romans. It means that while visiting another country visitors should try to embrace that particular country’s cultures and traditions, because that is the whole point of visiting a different country. People visit other countries to experience cultures that are different from their own. And indulging oneself into that culture is a great way of accomplishing that. The common purpose of visiting another country is to know that country in a detailed fashion which requires visitors to follow that country’s cultural traits. It helps them to blend in the lives of the local population and get a real experience about the day to day life of the surroundings.

While visitors should follow local traits, some people disagree with it by holding the view that the host country country should welcome cultural differences. And this is indeed true at this modern age of globalization. We live in a global village where cultures from all over the world are getting mixed together and being respected by everyone. In order to establish unity among people from different cultures it is important that a host country becomes tolerant to other cultures. But although it is up to the visitors what custom they should follow, it is beneficial for them to follow the local customs and behaviors.

Overall from the above argument, it is clear that while it is important for host countries to welcome cultural differences, visitors should try to follow local customs in order to achieve a great experience.