Food can be produced much more cheaply today because of improved fertilisers and better machinery. However, some of the methods used to do this may be dangerous to human health and may have negative effects on local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that science and technology advance has made great contribution to the improvememt of living condition as it increased the food production and reduced the food price by using fertilizer and morden machinery. However, many people argued that the utilisation of these inventions may have potential negative influences on consumer health and local communities. In my opinion, I agree that beside incredible benefits, some drawbacks should be paid serious attention

On the one hand, There is no denying that fertilisers and machinery have served a vital role in agriculture and food production. Firstly, Fertilizers and pesticides have a significant impact on crop yields as it enriches the soil and enhances plant resistance to extreme weather, pets and insects, thereby increasing yields. For example: Urea is a fertilizers that contains large amounts of nitrogen, which is essential for healthy plant growth. Secondly, thanks to sophisticated machinery, nowadays, food can be mass-produced in large quantities with less manual labour. This leads to lower the cost to produce food and make it affordable to more people.

On the other hand, apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I believe that there are some disadvantaged should be taken into account. Firstly, when it come to machinery, the more farming jobs are accomplished by machinery, the higher unemployment among local farmer. And joblessness is the main culprit of social evils as the saying goes "the devil make work for idle hands". Secondly, The over application of fertilisers and pesticides also harm public health and the environment. For example : One popular fertilizer, Urea, produces ammonia emanation, contributes to groundwater contamination while Groundwater contamination has been linked to gastric cancer, goitre, birth malformations, and hypertension, testicular cancer and stomach cancer.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the benefit of reducing food price and enhancing food production. Fertilizer and machinery are accountable for deteriorated health of consumer, evironmental pollution and serious unemployment among local communities as mentioned above