The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate only locally produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The transportation of food has aroused people's attention and discussion. Some people think that it would be more environmentally friendly and economical to eat only locally produced food. In my opinion, the advantages are far less than the disadvantages.

Eating local food does have economical and environmental advantages. To begin with, people can eat fresh food without waiting for a long time. If food, such as vegetables and fruits, is transported from other places, its taste will probably deteriorate before it reaches its destination, which is far less healthful than eating local food. In addition, eating local food does not need to be transported from other places. Eating local food does not require long-distance transportation and does not consume too many resources. It is economical and environmentally friendly.

However, eating local food can also bring about many drawbacks. Firstly, eating local food will slow down the national economy. Food plays an important role in the country's economic development. If people only buy local food, national food cannot be exchanged, which is not conducive to economic development. Secondly, long-term consumption of local food does harm to people's health. Different regions are suitable for growing different crops. If people only eat one or several crops for a long time, they will inevitably lack some important elements in their body, which is not beneficial to their health.

All in all, although eating local food saves fuel and also enables people to eat fresh food in time. However, in the long run, not only will people's health be adversely affected, but also the economy of the whole country will develop slowly. As a result, disadvantages overweigh advantages.