Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It has been argued that overseas tourists should be charged higher entrance fees to sites that are of cultural and historical importance than do locals. My firm conviction is that this is unfair and may discourage tourists from coming to the host country; therefore, I have to disagree entirely with the given statement.

The standard justification for two-tier costing is that operating local attractions largely depends on state funding, to which local residents contribute by paying taxes. However, I believe this view is short-sighted. It should be acknowledged that foreign visitors also make a financial contribution to the economy of the destination as they spend money on a variety of products and services, ranging from food, souvenirs to guided tours. Therefore, governments in all nations should be happy to subsidise tourists, facilitating their visits to the famous landmarks.

I also reckon that if international visitors realised that they were overcharged, it is likely that they would stop coming to the area. To illustrate this point, the tourism industry in Vietnam relies on the number of foreign visitors and their levels of satisfaction in their visits to well-known places such as the one-pillar pagoda and the temple of literature. In these places, admission fees are the same, regardless of nationality. Should overseas tourists be disheartened because of unequal entrance costs, tourism revenue could suffer, which poses a problem to the maintenance of the aforementioned attractions.

In conclusion, I contend that it would be counterproductive to force international tourists to pay more for admission into places of historical and cultural values. Instead, every effort should be put into facilitating their visits.