Write about the following topic.

When talking about success, we often think of people who are rich or famous.

In your opinion, what are the qualities that characterise a successful person? Why do you think these should be the criteria?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

People often associate success with being affluent or well-known. While such link is explicable, I believe that successful people should be recognized by how much they contribute to their society and their personal levels of satisfaction in life.

On the one hand, being rich and famous could be a good indicator of a successful person for several reasons. Forefront among them is that those who earn a lot of money and gain widespread recognition often have to work hard to earn their spot. For instance, billionaires like Oprah or Bill Gates are world-renown for their incredible work ethic, which is reflected in the numerous projects they launch and the profound impacts they exert in their fields (television for Oprah and technology for Bill Gates). However, it is noteworthy that a considerable proportion of wealthy people are heirs and heiress. In other words, they are born into success, instead of having to work for it.

On the other hand, I hold the view that people's levels of success should be measured based on two other criteria: their contribution to their community and their feelings of contentment. To begin with, there are jobs that neither attract public attention nor hefty paychecks but are still important to our society. Lesser known street cleaners and food inspectors, whose work help to ensure cleaner roads and safer food, are good examples. Furthermore, there is more to success than just money and fame as it is also about personal sense of satisfaction. For instance, while teachers may not earn as much as celebrities, their impact on young generations and the affection and respect they receive from their students fill them to feel content nonetheless.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that defining success in terms of finance and popularity is reasonable, I am convinced that there are other valid criteria, which are social contribution and personal contentment.