You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to beshared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on the degree at which information is circulated. While a number of people are convinced that in the spheres of scientific research, business and academics, the more information is shared the better, others believe that certain key information should be secured from general viewing. This essay aims to discuss both views and present my personal account.

On one hand, there are sound reasons why sharing of information should be facilitated as much as possible. Firstly, it helps organisations to keep updated with the most cutting-edge methodsapplied in different work contexts. For example, the publication of novel laboratorial procedures on the Internet helps to heighten the quality of research-oriented experiments in facilities across the globe. Secondly, increasing the circulation of information wll also induce a sense of positive competitiveness to produce better results. For instance, as news of Adidas’ newest shoe technology Boost made headlines, its rivals such as Nike or Underamour have been boosting research and experimentation to introduce footware offering higher degree of comfort with innovative designs and materials.

On the other hand, that certain vital information needs to be kept under limited access is also justifiable. To begin with, this helps to maintain the competitive edge for leading players. A good example here is that the most sought-after training programs in Harvard university are accessible only the students there and a multitude of measures have been taken to ensure the content is not plagiarized or stolen by anyone. In addition, if vital information is compromised, damage in many aspects will be inevitable. Take Adidas’ new material as an example. If their secret formula were revealed and used by their competitors, they would lose their market share, which could result in financial loss worth billions of dollars.

IN conclusion, I personally take the view that while information should be shared as much as possible, it is understandable that certain strategic data needs access restriction.