Some educational systems make students study specialised subjects from the age of fifteen while others require students to study a wide range.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Education for students from the age of 15 typically has two approaches. One entails a narrower syllabus for early specialisation while the other employs a diverse range of subjects. Each approach has its validity, which will be elaborated on in the following essay.

Studying fewer subjects and some more in-depth allows for greater focus. The correlation between increased time spent in one domain and higher levels of proficiency in the said area has been proven by research into the impact of repeated training on elite performers. Real-life illustrations for this include young Olympic medalists such as Tom Daley, whose early commitment to intense athletic training led them to victory in tournaments and competitions. The advantage of mastery over a field is further compounded by the benefit of reduced exam-oriented pressure. With fewer tests to prepare for, students can focus on making progress in their area of interest.

However, there are compelling arguments in favor of a broader curriculum. While learning obviously useful subjects such as Mathematics and Science equip learners with logical thinking and practical skills, taking up an instrument or attending art classes facilitate other developments. These seemingly less significant subjects not only improve physical coordination but also nurture creativity and help with emotional regulations. Another crucial point is that early specialisation is only effective provided that young students have a good sense of identity. A more varied syllabus cater for a wider range of learners and allow them to explore different options, which in the long term fosters more open-minded individuals.

Considering both approaches, despite the undeniable benefits of a more concentrated curriculum, I believe learning multitude of subjects is more advantageous, furnishing future citizens with a more diverse skill set and a more flexible mindset.