Some educational systems make students study specialised subjects from the age of fifteen while others require students to study a wide range.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Education for students from 15 years of age typically follows either of two main paths. One entails a narrower syllabus for early specialisation while the other employs a wide range of subjects. Both systems will be discussed in the following essay.

Studying fewer subjects and more in-depth ones may allow for greater focus. An increasing amount of time spent in one domain has been proven to correlate with a higher level of mastery in the said field by research into the importance of training to elite performers. This principle applies to many Olympic gold medalists, whose serious commitment to athletic training at a young age eventually led to their victories in tournaments and competitions. The advantage of earlier mastery is further compounded by the benefit of lower pressure from generic testing. With fewer subjects, students may experience less pressure due to studying for tests that do not benefit them in the long term, and instead focus on the ones that facilitate progression in their chosen fields.

However, there are compelling arguments in favor of choosing a better-rounded curriculum. While obviously useful subjects like Mathematics and Science equip students with fundamental knowledge and skills, playing a musical instrument or writing poems can benefit students in different ways. To specify, these seemingly less significant subjects can foster creativity and help students regulate their emotions, which all improve mental well-being. Another crucial point is that early specialisation is only effective provided students have a good sense of identity. On the contrary, a more diverse and less concentrated syllabus allows students to have more time to explore their own orientation. As a result, learns may not feel harnessed to only one field and be willing to exercise autonomy later in life.

Considering both approaches, despite the undeniable benefits of early specialisation, I believe that a more wide-ranging curriculum is the better predictor of a child’s future, equipping them with a more diverse skill set and more flexible mindset.