Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem.

The restricted amount of water has been the problem in many parts of the world since ancient time. Nowadays, this problem is becoming worse in account of growing needs in this compulsory resource around the world. This essay will first consider reasons of the increased demand, and after discuss possible ways in solving the problem.

It is clear that the tendency of the rising population leads to an increasing level of consumption of water. The nature is not able to provide as much pure water, as the huge quantity of people need. People do not realize this fact and it is the reason of inefficient using of water. For instance, when the Soviet Union had discovered oil fields, they started unrestricted and inefficient taking oil from the fields. Eventually, it led to a dramatic reduce in the amount of oil that could be produced.

The solutions of the problem are people intelligence in management of water and interfering to the problem by governments. Adults and schools must teach children how to consume water efficiently. Moreover, to maintain them in doing it governments must limit the consumption of the resource and raise the prices for water. For example, after the big fault in producing oil in the Soviet Union, the government founded a department that had an obligation to control the processes and technologies of oil production. It influenced to the future of the industry and saved many oil fields.

Overall, the major causes of increased needs are the growing population and poor knowledge in managing water consumption. To solve this issue, governments must interfere and strictly control the using of water, also adults have to teach the younger generation how to consume water efficiently.