In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of technology, it is predicted to have more driverless vehicles in roads in the future. Although this development might sound beneficial in many aspects, it still has a number of significant drawbacks that need to be considered. Through this essay, I will list some common merits and demerits brought up by this trend.

To begin with, auto-pilot transport would be very advantageous as it facilitates people’s life. One benefit is that it would be more relaxing and calming for drivers who might be driving to work, school or anywhere else. For example, if someone was nervous or concerned about something, they would not focus while driving and this would rise the probability of having an accident. Through driverless cars, passengers would be less worried about driving while anxious. Moreover, busy individuals benefit from this trend as they can multitask while on their way to work. For example, if an employee had an unfinished assignment, they can simply achieve it while the car is driving on its own.

However, we must not be deceived by this modern trend neglecting its negative aspects. Firstly, while auto-pilot vehicles can decrease the likelihood of accidents, that does not completely mean that they are safe to wander around in roads since they lack the ability of analyzing road signs and not identifying dangerous roads. Therefore, more and more car accidents might occur due to driverless cars and trucks. Another drawback is that individuals and communities will become dependent on those vehicles as slackness would increase broad resulting in useless societies.

To sum up, it is evident that having such advanced technology installed in many societies has many profits as it adds more convenience to people’s life, but we must not turn a blind eye on the disadvantages that come out of this trend.