In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

With the onset of 21st century and its technology advancement in various domains, road transportation has recently been getting upgrades. Numerous intellectuals and private tech-companies have proposed cars, buses and trucks without any kind of human intervention for driving. The advantages of such driverless vehicles does outweigh its disadvantages.

Firstly, such types of vehicles will ease the tedious and tiring long driving hours. Since the driving is taken care by a smart computer capable of taking data driven wise decisions with the help of suite of sensors attached to the body of the vehicle, the chances of mishaps on the roads would significantly reduce due to fatigue of a conventional human driver. Recently such a truck for transportation of goods was announced by the company named Tesla which promises to better the lives of long hauled road transportation. Secondly, due to increase population using their own vehicles for commute has led to increased traffic and which eventually leads to frustration in human driver and time waste. Thus, would become a thing of past leading to better health of humans and give free up time which was earlier lost in the commute due to traffic.

On the other hand, the drivers who used to provide services as drivers as their livelihood would now be rendered jobless. Most importantly, the software required for such a feat is still in its fledgling stage and might not be smart enough to be trusted by humans.

In summary, with the introduction of trucks, buses and cars with the ability to drive on its own eliminating the need of a driver has its disadvantages clearly outweighed by advantages, therefore benefitting humans.