In the future, nobody will buy printed newspaper or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that in the near future, printed newspaper or books will totally be superseded by online news and e-books that are offered free of charge. From my perspective, I support this idea since all the advantages of electronic books and newspaper are of benefit to both people and the environment.

To start with, online news and books are economically beneficial and available on every website on the Internet. With an incredible speed of updating the most recent news and the latest release of books , it is understandable that lots of newsagents are now on the verge of bankruptcy. Beside the up-to-the-minute news and episodes that the Internet provides, e-books are far more portable because they are all contained in a small size of a smart phone which allows people to keep updated whenever and wherever they want. On the contrary, paper books are larger so it is inconvenient for people to have to carry it along in their bag. In addition, it is not only on the house but e-books or e-newspaper also enables them to download it without needing to pay a penny so they can read it even with the absence of the Wifi.

What is more, online versions offer more diverse topics and the permission to give comments and feedbacks for readers compared to a narrow range in a printed paper. Such apps like Baomoi or Wattpad provides a host of types for audiences with different interests to choose and because they are able to express their thoughts about the quality of the content, a growing number of them reported feeling satisfied when their opinions are appreciated. Furthermore, more online versions mean less environmental contamination. Averagely, around 17 billion cubic feet of trees deforested each year and the purpose of chopping them down for producing paper is partly to blame. Therefore, choosing to read books and newspapers online is a practical way of protecting our breath and the ecosystem.

In conclusion, although a lot of people still maintain the habit of reading paper books, this type will sooner or later be superseded by the online version which are not only financially beneficial but also environmentally friendly.