In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s world, these recent years witnessed a rapid pace in the development of technology. Due to this, it is very convenient for people to read everything they want online without paying any extra costs. Therefore, it is thought that in the future, no one will buy printed newspapers or books. However, I remain unconvinced with this statement.

To begin with, the most frequent factor against this point is that newspapers and books are the reliable sources. To put it in another way, they provide more accurate information for readers than online resources. One example to demonstrate this claim is that in Vietnam, the content of a newspaper is always inspected strictly by many organizations prior to being printed out. Besides, there are also many rigorous laws issued by the government to ensure the exact news being printed. Meanwhile, the information updated day by day on the media on the Internet is not censored in a careful way. That means the level of precise news from these resources is lower than from newspapers of bools. Hence, printed newspapers will continue being used in the future because of its benefit related to worthy information published.

In addition, one explanation to oppose this statement is that reading printed papers still bring pleasure to some specific groups of people. To clarify, people in some particular areas cannot gain news through the Internet. This is shown by the following example. In Eritrea, Internet access is all government-controlled and less than 1% of the total population reportedly go online. As a result, people in this area still rely on printed newspaper or books to gain information. For that reason, printed newspapers or books will play an important role in our society in the future.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that in the future printed newspapers and books will be bought because of its positive aspects regarding to the information and the advantages for people who are out of reach Internet. Consequently, I totally disagree with the view.