Gaming is argued to have a bad influence on young children but some people think that it could have a positive effect on them as well. Which view do you agree with? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

There is no doubt that in today’s fast-paced, technology-driven world internet games have influenced lives of many people. While few opine that, gaming consoles are not good for development of youth, others argue that it also has beneficial effects on children. I do not completely agree with either of these perspectives and will support my explanation with relevant examples.

On the one hand, internet games induce a bad influence on health as well as academics of students. This is because, the mind of a child can easily get diverted, which in turn leads to lack of concentration with poor academic performance. For example, according to a report published by the UK newspaper in 2011, the NHS highlighted a large proportion of brain damage in kids induced by deleterious rays emitted through the electronic media, when watched for longer periods. As a result, the overall growth and development of children were retarded. In contrast, children should have liberty to enjoy their favourite video games but under supervision.

On the other hand, I believe the computer games have some beneficial effects on youngsters. The reason of this is, development of quick thinking and decision-making attitude, which lead them to a path of success in times ahead. For instance, in my own experience, I could play video games as a child that enhanced my reflexes for various activity. As a result, my driving skills were remarkably improved, and I can drive anywhere in the world with confidence. However, the children should not over indulge in these addictive video games therefore, a strict supervision should always be present. Although, I believe whether learners can play computer games or not, the neuro- cognitive development depends upon an individual’s personality as well as environmental factors.

In conclusion, while there are numerous detrimental effects of internet games on mind and body of children, I believe it also gives youth a chance to discover new horizons and live happily.