Giving detailed descriptions of crimes in newspapers and on television… media should be restricted.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the restriction of providing detailed criminal information in newspapers or other electronic media programs is very necessary. From my perspective, I totally agree with this opinion since specific reports of crime have a negative impact on psychology and social security.

The main reason why I believe this view is because heinous criminal news has a psychological influence on people. For elder people, when they watch detailed information related to violent and sensational crimes, the visualization of violence frightens people and disturbs their peace of mind. For children who are at their behavioral developmental phase, are more susceptible to adopting negative behavioral leanings, and are likely to imitate the criminal actions blindly. To illustrate, a 5- years old girl in Vietnam died after imitating a Youtube video about the challenge of “strangling but still breathing”.

Another reason why I support the notion that the media should refrain from publishing specific information on crimes is that providing that news directly affects social security. Those who are immoral behavior would learn how to plan and implement crimes regardless of any place and object. To illustrate, an incident caused uproar in VietNam that an Estonian man slapped the butt of a Vietnamese woman in an elevator, which is usually crowded with people, and threatened to kill her if she reported to the police. In addition, some criminals may be attracted by the experiences of other criminals to avoid being arrested by the police. For instance, a would-be criminal could learn the importance of concealing his fingerprints after seeing a report about how a criminal was captured by police when his fingerprints were exposed.

In conclusion, I completely agree that revealing specific details of crimes on media should be limited. This is that detailed criminal news will be harmful to psychology and social security issues.