The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It comes as encouragement of exploiting gas and oil, in remote locations on the grounds of overconsumption of these fossil fuels. Although there are still certain benefits of this direction, I personally opine that its drawbacks are more significant.

The merit of this trend is somewhat related to enhancing the standard life in these zones. Firstly, dwellers can be employed in manual positions without requiring high-level knowledge when carrying out extraction processes. Moreover, groceries, restaurants, accommodations, and others can be erected to meet the demand of workers, giving rise to standing a chance to make money. Therefore, taking out these materials in far-off areas can improve the quality of life by making job opportunities.

However, the aforementioned strength is minored in comparison with the considerable weaknesses which should be taken into account. One evident downside is that environment is put in jeopardy when utilizing gas and oil. To be more detailed, because of the main power in manufacturing, the more gas and oil are exploited, the more people burn them while gas and oil production are among the prime culprits of greenhouse gases. That acts as a catalyst for environmental issues such as global warming, extreme weather conditions, and so on.

In addition to this, on a wider level, it is worth mentioning that due to being non-renewable energy and the prevalent, it is a short-time policy. In other words, if the government do not reduce the rate of exploitation considerably, the depletion of natural resources will occur soon. Thereby, worsening global storage can generate several deleterious implications such as increasing the rate of unemployment, useless millions of dollars of high-value drills, factories, and other constructions for the sake of these extractions. In this context, to ensure the long-term development, extracting oil and gas even in godforsaken regions should be substituted for alternative power, namely, wind, solar, etc.

In conclusion, it can be confidently conveyed that, even though the expansion of oil and gas has beneficial impacts of living standard, these do not surpass the cons when it comes to the environment protection, and a permanent outlook.