Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

Some people are convinced that financial reserve of the government, primarily, should be allocated to the public needs than on arts. Opposers, including me, firmly believe that it is not a squander and arts play a major role in developing society.

To begin with, arts are one of the main sources of revenue in the leading countries such as United States and United Kingdom. Prominent performers and their uniqueness attract tourists all over the globe to visit their homeland, and thereby governments after receiving taxes, have a chance to contribute them to the development of local infrastructure. Furthermore, the investments on arts would enable common folk to choose the eligible career path.To compound, millions of gifted people squander their life on the unwanted activity, leading depressive lifestyle, and so become drug addicted or consume excessive amount of alcohol. Therefore, art seems to have more beneficial ways, in a view of avoiding devastating outcomes and to make contributions to the countries' budget.

On the other hand, there are several reasons for subsidising an amount of budget on public services. First and foremost, public services such as schools, hospitals and others determine the living standard in all countries. The environment would collapse and the health of the population would tumble, unless the governments feel reluctantly and stop spending the particular amount of budget on these sectors. Moreover, the rate of illiteracy would even grow in case if the quality of teaching would not be taken into consideration. Thus, there should be relevant life conditions in order to evolve the current society.

From the given points, the role of arts in the cultural identity of a country should not be underestimated, however, the governments should devote resources on the basic services as well.