Government investment in the arts such as music and theatre is a waste of money Governments must invest this money in public services instead To what extent do you agree with this statement

Every government is responsible for fulfilling the basic needs of the people. After making people satisfied with their basic needs for entertainment purposes, the government spends money to build up theaters and make other sorts of entertainment programs. Some believe that this is nothing but a waste of money, in place of the authorities who should invest money to upgrade their public facilities. I do not completely agree with this statement. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss that.

On the one hand, arts and music give people mental satisfaction. Musical institutions do not have enough opportunities like other public institutions to earn revenue, therefore the government should give them funds to carry on their research and study. Moreover, music, arts highlight the cultural tradition and the identity of a nation. Without being given financial help in this sector, cultural traditions will be diminished in the country. In addition, in many countries, the entertainment industry adds a huge amount of money to the GDP. For instance, in America, the film industry provides 20% of the total GDP, and in India, the percentage is much higher than this value. Therefore, the government should invest more to get more revenue.

On the other hand, to make strong and well infrastructure public services the expenditure of money should be increased. For example, a well-organized public transportation system which will be very helpful for decreasing the traffic jams and the suffering of the people. Then, to ensure the safety of the people, the government should spend money to make a strong task force and install cameras and other items to monitor every movement. Furthermore, the government should be concerned about environmental pollution and try to reduce it to get a good environment to live in.

In conclusion, basic facilities and entertainment both are needed in our life, we can not give more priority to one instead of the other. To sum up all the points above, I can say we should spend equal money in every sector.