A government’s role is only to provide defense capability and urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies, etc.). All other services (education, health, social security) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is an argument that whether a government should interfere with some social services(like education, health care, social insurance, etc.) except the national defense and the city’s public facilities. In my opinion, a government ought to provide basic public services and supervise private social services at the same time.

One of the reasons is that without the monitor of a government, social services might become more and more commercialize. In that case, the price of education and medical treatment will be higher. Ordinary citizens will lose the fair opportunities of receiving equal community services. Moreover, the quality of private social services is hard to guarantee due to the control power is taken by some big private companies. For example, those enterprises will try to prevent public people benefit from social security to make sure their own profit can get maximum.

On the other hand, others argue that those social services provided by private groups or individuals can improve the quality of services. For example, private hospitals can buy more advanced cure devices to provide the best treatment. By contrast, public hospitals must be funded by a government and lack of money to buy enough equipment, they also only can employ a more limited number of doctors and nurses. As we all know, it is common that it needs to wait a long time to see a doctor in a public hospital. The similar situation happens in a public school.

To summarize, undoubtedly, a government must provide those services which are essential to a country, such as defense capability and urban infrastructure. In addition, a government should play the role of supervisor and continue to provide a base level of fair and inexpensive public services.