Government should invest more money in science education rather than other subjects to develop the country. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an argument that to develop a nation, science education should be invested with higher amount of money rather than other disciplines. I, personally, strongly disagree with this statement because each subject contributes equally to the development of the country.

On the one hand, state budget should be spent partially on science education because of several undeniable reasons. Firstly, science education is responsible for training employees for all other fields of a nation. If workforce is highly intellectually trained, they can positively contribute to field they are working on, resulting in the development of the country. For example, North American and European economies have been boosted significantly because their workers are trained from top world universities. Secondly, people working on science education are capable of inventing labor-saving devices or methods that can be really helpful to other subjects. For instance, engineers invent calculators to assist officers process a massive amount of data in a faster and more accurate way. This will lead to an enhancement in labor productivity, and, therefore, contribute considerably to the country’s progress towards development.

On the other hand, many other subjects than science education play essential roles to the development of a country and governments should allocate money to these fields. For example, subjects such as art, music or literature, have important impacts on the development of children because these subjects teach them to become well-rounded people. As a result, youngsters, the driving force of a nation, will be aware of their roles in the development of their own country when they get older. History, as another example, has a very important role when a nation wants to be developed. Through historical eras, people learn how to deal with difficult problems or unexpected events occurred in the past as well as gain valuable experiences from ancestors and apply them in modern life.

In conclusion, from various reasons I mentioned above, governments should equally spend money on science education and other subjects as well to develop the country in a comprehensive way.