Some people say it is OK to use animals for our benefit others say it is not good to exploit them Discuss both points of view and give your opinion

It is true that nowadays, animals are widely used to satisfy human needs for food, entertainment and scientific exploration. In my opinion, while I tend towards the view that animal exploitation is morally wrong, I would have to support a limited amount of animal exploitation because of undeniable benefits.

On the one hand, there are some ethical arguments against the use of animals for human needs. Firstly, humans have no right to subject animals to any kind of confinement or trauma and the lives of all creatures should be respected. Such critics argue that the benefits to human do not justify the suffering caused and human should explore alternative ways to benefit their lives. Secondly, taking some exploitations on animals might contain potential dangers and put human in a life-threatening situation. For example, new medicines which are successfully tested on mice or rats might cause serious side effects on human body and even worse, kill the patient.

On the other hand, I support regulated animal exploitation because of several indisputable reasons. The first reason is that humans use and exploit animals in myriad ways, including milk, meat, egg, fur and so on. Secondly, experiments on animals help to advance scientific and medical knowledge. Research using animals directly contribute to the development of vaccines, antibiotics and medical procedures that save many humans and animals lives. Furthermore, researchers are now aiming to find new methods to minimize the suffering that dogs or mice may experience in laboratory. Personally, I also agree that unnecessary testing of cosmetics and household products on animals should be banned because the suffering caused outweigh the human curiosity.

In conclusion, from various reasons I mentioned above, I support the view that animal exploitation should be limited to only indispensable purposes like food and medical testing.