Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As urban and regional development continue being a crucial factor to the growth of a country and thus its people, how governments utilize funding for public infrastructures, such as roads and railways, is a closely observed discussion. Some argue that governments should invest more in rail transport rather than roads. I completely agree with this proposal.

Firstly, rail transportation is more efficient than roads. Train has the largest capacity compared to other modes of transport and can carry hundreds of people and tons of goods. If more people were to be able to travel on trains, it would drastically reduce traffic congestion and the toxic exhaust fumes that have long been associated with transportations. Secondly, locomotive tracks can be used for multiple purposes and can greatly add to the movement of humans, animals, and goods from one location to another.

However, the argument for roads seems to suggest that having personal vehicles would be much more convenient to use. This is not the case. Even though people would have more personal space on their own cars, traveling by train let people spend their commuting time attending to their own business at no risk of traffic collision. It has been confirmed by multiple kinds of research that distraction and intoxication while driving is the leading cause of fatal traffic accidents. Railways are much more reliable compared to roads for this.

To conclude, railway development is imperative for the development of any society, as it is safer, more efficient and convenient than roads. Governments should subsidize more on rails.