It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, taking a gap year is becoming increasingly common. After finishing high school, more people are considering taking a year off in order to pursue their passions before going to university or college. This period will greatly enable them to reflect on themselves as who they are outside of the pursuit of academics, but there will also be some drawbacks.

One advantage of gap years is that it would improve a student’s sense of self-worth outside of school. Many students spend most of their time in high school doing required and extra works to improve their grade and thus their chance at getting into a university. This leaves little time for self-reflection and self-growth. Taking a gap year enable them to follow other passions that they didn’t have time to focus on. In addition, another benefit of the gap year experience is that it enables some students to take up a job before college: becoming an intern at a tech company or a research program, doing charity work for a global organization, and et cetera. This not only improves their social skills and broadens their network, but it can also be incredibly rewarding.

On the other hand, taking a year off from school can be risky. Firstly, depending on where students choose to stay during the year off, gap years can be quite expensive. Short term travel can be very costly, especially if they are planning on traveling overseas, as they will have to consider the costs of visa application, health insurance, accommodations, and food. Secondly, students can lose their academic momentum, which will make it difficult to transition back to their studies. Finally, taking a year out can add an extended period of time to an already lengthy educational process, which could potentially result in them missing out on an early start in their career.

In conclusion, should students choose to spend a year off from their studies, it is crucial that they do plenty of research and preparation, for it will definitely be a life-changing experience.