Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs believing that this will make their staff healthier abd thus more effective at work Other employers see no benefit in doing so Consider the arguments from both aspects o

In the overwhelming age of new technology and media, personal health is of great importance. Some employers think that by subsidizing gym and sports clubs membership, they can create a healthier and therefore more effective working force. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. The following essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages in these arguments.

The former group of employers implies that by having gym membership correlate to their employees becoming healthier. It is true that an hour or two at the gym can increase your serotonin and adrenaline levels substantially. These naturally occurring hormones, which are released whenever someone exerts energy - by working out, for instance, are the driving forces of human behaviour by creating a euphoric feeling. This can possibly lead to the employees being happier and more efficient at their work. At the same time, by creating a bond between the employees, for example from playing in a team sport or working out together, the employers can make the workplace more comfortable and less stressful.

On the other hand, making an investment toward the well-being of the workforce is not a practical idea for many employers. They are reluctant to calculate the risk of putting their funds into something so abstract and may not pay off in the long term. Moreover, a person doesn't get healthier by simply having a gym membership, if they don't participate in the programs. The only way of making sure everyone go to the gym is by making it a required past-time. There are many other ways to keep track of a person's health that doesn't equate to them having to go to the gym or to a sports meeting. Making something like going to the gym compulsory can bring about more troubles than its worth for the latter group.

Personally, I consider the gym a healthy and enjoyable way to spend my time. But I wouldn't expect it of everyone, nor should employers. This is why it is not necessary to subsidize gym or sports membership.