Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Opinions are divided as to whether governments should spend more budgets on railway development rather than roads. In my opinion, I agree with the statement due to railways are basic transportation for both commercial and consumer activities.

In many countries, governments tried to spread out their road system as long as they can. Obviously, the number of people who use a car or a bus are higher than other kind of transportations. The main reason of this is their government spent most of their budget for extending road. Countries who follow this policy will lead their citizens to use car system. So that travelling by road should be more comfortable for them, leading to increase in the number of cars in country. Consequently, this will cause traffic problems in many areas, especially in CBD. Moreover, many people have to buy their own car with extremely expensive price, paid to the bank 5-year-installment plan.

To figure this out, governments should allow people to have alternative way of transportations like train. The benefits of using train is not made traffic problem because they are running on the sky or underground. Moving from place to place in rush time should be shorter time. The best model is Japan, there are over 100 million people live in Japan with more crowded comparing to Thailand with lower population but their traffic condition is more efficiency than Thailand in every way, timing, pricing and comforting. Furthermore, train systems always release lower greenhouse gas than using car. Therefore, it is the time to develop train system intensively.

In conclusion, too many numbers of cars will lead to many problems both traffic problems and air pollutions. Train system is the best solution for these problems that government should put it as first priority.