Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, more and more governments in different countries are investing more money fort railway infrastructure. However, I strongly disagree with this idea, because railway construction leads some environmental problems and train is not as convenient as other transportation.

To begin with, building new railways may cause some damage to our environment. Some natural land would be destroyed in the process of building railways, and train stations as well, and the environment would be irreversibly damaged for a long time. For instance, some wild animals would be forced to leave their habitats and have no place. Besides, air pollution would be also caused due to the construction of rail infrastructure. These harmful particles might make us unhealthy and cause some diseases, such as respiratory and cardiovascular diseases.

In addition to the environmental factor, taking trains is not always convenient for every resident. People who live in rural areas, such as high mountains, have to rely on road for transport, because railways are not easy to built there. If our government spends money only on construction of railways but not roads, it is not fair for these people who also pay for taxes. Moreover, railways are not always convenient for residents living in cities. Some citizens are used to take trains to go to work, but it takes a long time to wait for trains in rush hours. In contrast, driving cars is much easier for communicating.

In conclusion, I agree with that government should should take responsibilities to establish convenient transportations. However, I don’t think investing more money only on rail infrastructure is right for the reasons I mentioned above.