Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

More recently, there has been some controversy as to whether the government should release funds on improving the quality of the railway or it should be channel towards road. Personally, I agree with this notion.

There are some compelling reasons why I think the railway should be funded. Firstly, it causes less environmental clithches. This is because rail lines are usually far from the city, thereby not causing any form of air pollution including traffic congestion. Also, it is a safe route and it accommodates more commuters with their luggages. The capacity of a train can take thousands of people at once including business men and women with their goods. For example, a cousin friend usually travel to the east from the far north in other to purchase gold and fabrics using the train because of its safety and space. Hence, the state should consider spending more in order to improve the state of the railways.

Others might argue and say the government should rather channel the money towards working on road. Proponents of this claim that cars can reach everywhere including links between different facilities that need visiting. For instance, when one alight at a train station, there will still be need to board a car or motorcycle to the exact destination. However, I tend to disagree with this because there is now invention of electric train that are environmentally friendly, such that their stations can be situated near shopping malls, schools and offices.

In conclusion, I believe that allocating more funds for the betterment of locomotives will make transportation more safe and convenient than cars.