Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Increasing sales rate of reigning consumer goods recently shows the advertising effects, not as if it is really useful to the buyers. In my view, I completely agree with this notion, as this result in many people buying what is not needed and wasting funds or necessarily.

The advertising system these days have put many people into purchasing several things not useful to them, this is believed to be as a result of how well they want to impress the public with their brand by convincing them with logical advert. For example, it is observed in the market today that there are several product selling fast due to the commercial seen on television today such as cooking seasonings which will later get expired in the kitchen cabinet when not used.

Furthermore, it is often claimed that commercials make people spend more than necessary. This is sometimes because of the pictures attached to the product which makes it fascinating but the content might not what is this happens in big shopping malls mostly. For instance, it was observed in the ever-busy shopping mall in Nigeria (Shoprite) that most imported goods bought such as chesse for children are more or less a waste of money. Relatively, family outing to this area makes them spend more than expected.

In conclusion, reigning consumer goods selling fast in recent time shows the power of display and not necessarily the human need. In my opinion, I totally agree with this as it makes the public buying unnecessary things and wasting financial resources.