It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, the trend of having a year gap in between graduating from high school and gaining admission into the higher institution is on the increase. Although this have lot of benefits such as travel experience and financial support, it also have some demerits.

Undoubtedly, a gap year from school has a number of benefits. To begin, it creates an opportunity to travel and explore the world. This exposes them to people of diverse culture and beliefs which in-turn prepare them ahead on how to cope or deal with different people they will encounter in the university. What's more, going to the university is quite expensive, so getting a job during the year off is one way to make some money in order to ease their parents' financial burden. For example, a colleague at the university did a job of a hospital attendant in order to gather funds for her higher institution expenses.

However, there are also some drawbacks attached to a year off school. Firstly, the students tend to suffer diminished knowledge. There are some subjects that needs constant study and practice like Mathematics and English studies. If these subjects are neglected for a whole year, it would affect the students at the University's entrance exam and probably first year in school. Another disadvantage is ageing. A year off school means a year setback. While other students are already in their second year in the University, such students are just applying as freshers.

In conclusion, it is a popular trend among students to take a year gap between their high school and Tertiary education. Despite its advantages like fund raising and valueable experience, its drawbacks cannot be overemphasized.