Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory school programme (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Free-willed community service such as charity, community development and sports education is believed by some people to be made compulsory for secondary school students. Personally, I disagree with this opinion.

It is often argued that honorary community service be made compulsory for high school students, people who believes this claim it helps to prepare them for the future by way of grooming them for community development either by representing the community in sports, helping the needy or providing social amenities in their little way. For instance, a passing out youth corper provided foot-wears for about 500 pupils of the community she served as a way of contribution. This is because of the compulsion of the free-willed community service she has enjoyed right from her high school.

However, I tend to disagree and there are compelling reasons for this. Firstly, it seems to me that this might be expensive for parents to afford. This is because there will always be a practical aspect of it in school which will require funding, coupled with academic expenses. As an illustration, students that participate in charity work will in school often opt out because of the expenses and unwillingness. Also, it appears to be stressful for the students. Having to join this with academic work and house chores after school put much workloads on them, then depriving them of their relaxation time.

In conclusion, community development service should not be made compulsory because it requires much in terms of finance and time.