Some educationalist argue that non-exam,art-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft should be compulsory in the secondary school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For the betterment of students' academic performance, some academicians felt non-exam, entertaining sections be made compulsory for every high school students. Personally, I do not believe adding music, drama, art and craft into school curriculum will improve their academic performance, but will rather distract them.

It is often argued that Arts and creating arts be included in school curriculum and made compulsory for students. Proponents of this believes it will improve their academic performance. This, they claim will widen their knowledge, the students will have a clue about every aspect of education including art and culture. For example, during end of the year party in different schools, it has been observed that students who partake in virtually every activities of the event lead his or her class excellently. Also, it is believed that these students go out for competition making the school proud. These has made many parents enroll their wards in such schools.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons for arguing that these should not be included in the school curriculum compulsorily. Firstly, distractions set in. Entertainment is a very interesting segment, so these students focus much on it leaving their academic pursuit to suffer. For example, most of the celebrities in the the industry today are school dropouts. Also, the students are exposed to indecent dressings and the use of hard drugs in other to be recognized. At the end, their main purpose of studying suffers.

In conclusion, I believe that students will only perform woefully and end up going astray if music, drama or art and craft are made compulsory for all secondary school students.