Some people think that parents should teach their children how to become a good member of the society. School is not a place to learn this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Charity, they say begins at home. To be relevant in the society requires good parenting. Learning institution is not the right place for this. Personally, I agree with this notion as school is primarily made for academic purpose.

For children to be of good conducts require good parenting. If guardians do not have quality time for the wards upbringing, they might end up being wayward. This because they will be left at the mercy of neighbors or even on the street roaming around. Parents should teach and lead their children in the right path by leading by examples. For instance, you can not expect a child to wake in the morning for devotions when the parents have not being doing so. Also, the choice of words, and proper guide in choosing a good career that will benefit the child, family and the society at large by parents is important in making them relevant.

Admittedly, learning institution is not a place to learn moral virtues. Whatever moral that has been learnt from home ought to be practiced in the school. This is because the academic work is cumbersome enough for children, adding moral education to it might be frustrating as the teachers might not not do it in love unlike how their parents will address them. For example, some teachers are extremely aggressive in teaching, so adding moral is like adding punishment for the child. Also, sometimes, the workload on teachers is enough to overlook any silly act from their students instead of correcting them. Hence, leaving these children to learn moral virtues in the school seems to me to be jeopardizing their stand in the society in the future.

In conclusion, it is my view that parents takes full courage to guide their offspring into becoming a good citizen.