Students should pay the full cost of their own university rather than having free education provided by the state. Do you agree or disagree?

More recently, there have been a great deal of controversy over whether the government should make provision for free education. Many believe undergraduates should be fully responsible for their tuition fee and I tend to agree with them.

There is a compelling reason why I think students should be responsible for their schooling cost. This is because it makes them more committed and focused on their academic work. Also, students will understand that failure in school work is a total waste of their money paid. For example, Nursing students do not joke with their studies because of fear of 'weeding' which always result in total waste of funds. This usually make students choose between success and failure.

Others might disagree and say that education should be free for service with the government support. They believe it is an avenue to relieve parents' off the burden of tuition fee and academic materials as education is becoming expensive. However, I tend to disagree because parents do not usually value anything free, they feel it is of poor quality. For instance, recently, parents send their wards to private institutions where high fee are paid in order to get quality education instead of public institution. Hence, government schools are started to lack recognition.

In conclusion, it is my view that scholars take up the duty of sponsoring their education as it makes them more focused rather than depending on the state which might not be of good quality.