Many modern children spend a great deal of time sitting in front of a television or computer screen. This is extremely harmful to their development. Therefore, parents should strictly limit the time that children spend in this way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, the younger ones have been observed to spend quality time watching Television or computer screen. Therefore, parents have been advised to strictly curb this habit. While I understand this, I would argue that it helps build children's intellect.

It is often argued that excessive television watching or the use of computers by children should be limited. Proponent of this claimed that it is harmful to their development. It is believed that these younger ones have problems getting along with their peers as they are used to keeping to themselves by watching. For instance, children found to be irritable in school or any social gathering are those addicted to watching cartoons or playing computer games. Another typical example is that their sight is usually affected because of long hours in front of the set straining their eyes. Consequently, their social life is affected leaving them hostile.

On the other hand, there are stronger reasons for arguing that children should be allowed to watch from the screen (Television and computers). Firstly, it builds them intellectually.they are exposed to different arts(comic or abstracts) that improves their qualitative reasoning. Also, instead of being involved in rough and dangerous play that can lead to domestic accidents, then, their favorite cartoons, films or games keeps them busy. This also allow their parents attend their own tasks. For example, children that watches different carton series appears to be good at telling stories in details.

All summed up, it is my view that children are allowed maximum screen time. This is because it improves their thinking abilities and also helps to while away time. Only then a proper mental development can be achieved.