In today's job market it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future job applicants may not need any formal qualifications.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that it is of great benefits to have acquired a skill other than theories in today's labour market as formal education may be irrelevant for seeking employment in the future. Skill acquisition is important, also, education cannot be eradicated as it will always serve as baseline criteria for employment.

To a lesser extent I agree with this notion as Do It Yourself (DIY) is taking its place in every homes today. Certain individuals believes handwork knowledge will provide reasonable benefits, instant job and freedom, so every child is enrolled in a particular skill acquisition center learning tye and dye, tailoring, hairdressing, baking, and bead Making. Thereafter, they become bosses of their own employing apprentices. For instance, a research carried out by the Federal Ministry of works in Ilorin Nigeria, it was gathered that about 85% of adults in the community are into one skill or the other. Hence, making the civil service lacking staffs.

To a greater extent, I disagree. As much as it is important to acquire practical skills, formal education remains relevant as it will serve as a baseline criteria for employment in the future. Recently, the government have included some practical skills in the school curriculum making every student learn one handwork or more other than normal academic work. In the nearest future, every establishment will ask for at least a school leaving certificate as employment requirements.

Relatively, education brings one into limelight. The knowledge to surf the internet is there in search of job vacancies and applying for it. For example, the UK immigration office has set up a program which highly skilled foreign personnels can migrate into the UK requesting qualifying certificates at each stage of processing including English proficiency test. This program is set to commence November 2020.

In conclusion, although it is argued that formal qualifications will no longer be a criteria for employment, then skill acquisition is given more importance. Despite the the importance of handwork, formal education cannot be over-emphasized.