Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only government and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The status of our present day environment can only be worked on via government's intervention as well as help from industries as individuals do not have the capacity. While I understand this claim, I would argue that individuals can also be of help.

It is often argued that only higher authorities and big industries can improve our surroundings. On the side of the companies, proponents of this claim that they can be of help by constructing their factories far away from residents which will help prevent emission of poisonous substances such as carbon monoxide. As an illustration,dwellers will be free from frequent chest infection (pneumonia) when its source have been moved away. Also, it is believed that the state should enact a rule of banning deforestation, as this appears to boost the oxygen saturation of the atmosphere, together with availability of food and medicine. If deforestation continues, the community will not have much of the valuable forestry.

However,I tend to disagree that residents do not have the capacity to improve their immediate surroundings and there are convincing arguments for this. Firstly, this is all about their life. If they lack knowledge of it at first, they would be sensitized and properly informed about the effect of poor or unsafe domain. For instance, people now dig holes to bury their refuse instead of their normal open dumping method after a campaign exercise against polio virus.

In conclusion, it seems to me that individuals can make much contribution in order to have a conducive environment as they are always the first contact.