Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only the government and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The status of our present day environment can only be worked on via government intervention as well as help from industries as individuals do not have the capacity. Personally, I will agree with claim as non-compliance is a major factor.

On one hand, community comprises of different people with various level of understanding and literacy. It seems to me that not complying to the rules guiding safe environment by the residents is a problem on its own. Since they do not understand the negative effect an pollution can have on them, there is no way they can be of help. For instance, a study carried out by WHO in a rural area of kwara state Nigeria reveals the presence of a virus(POLiO) on a dumping ground. Despite all efforts to curb the act of open dumping, the dwellers have failed to comply.

As an alternative, legislature can go a long way making the environment a conducive place. If the government enact a law of penalty, this will tend to tackle pollution. Also, large companies can be of help by reducing the amount of oil spills, abundance of plastic and toxic chemicals entering the water ways. For example Pharmaceutical companies have a way they dispose their unused toxic chemicals instead of channeling it to nearby streams. These entities understand what a safe environment is all about, so they try as much as possible to improve it.

In conclusion, I am convinced that with the joint effort of the government and big industries, our domains will be a better place to live.