School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Basic study skills are gradually fading as time passes. Students are found to extremely rely on computers which in-turn have a negative impact on their reading and writing abilities. While I understand this, I would argue that computer makes life convenient.

It is sometimes argued that the use of computers be prohibited and basic study skills be implored in schools. Advocates of this view believe that it affects students reading and writing abilities. It is often believed that it makes them lazy, not ready to brainstorm when they come across new and difficult words. It is also assumed that it make their hand writing illegible. For instance, the use of iPad note by Doctors from school age to medical school makes many of them scrawl while prescribing drugs. As a result, the computer tends to affect them negatively.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons for arguing that students are allowed usage of computers while in the school. Firstly, it makes learning convenient. If computers are allowed, students will be able to surf the internet for meaning to difficult words at a goal. Secondly, the use of computers in school seems to me to be an added advantage. This is because they have been used to it right from school, so getting a job that requires one to be a computer literate would not be a challenge. If getting that job is there last hope, what would have become of the at that point?. For example, the use of Thesaurus has helped many students stranded in meaning and synonyms to strange words. Also, it has helped many to be on the top list for employment.

In summary, I am convinced that if students are permitted to use computers, they will study in a suitable manner and it will be an addition to their certificate. As a result, students will be wide in knowledge.