Some people think that Universities should offer places to students who have high marks. Others think that Universities should take people of all ages whether they perform well or not.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

certain individuals argued that excellent performance should be a criteria in admitting students to higher institutions, whereas other proponents felt universities should admit people irrespective of their ages and Academic performance. In my opinion, good grades should be considered while offering admission to aspiring undergraduates this will make them more serious with their studies and further give the institutiontion good reputation.

There are some compelling reasons why some people argue that universities should only offer admission to students of good grades. Of course, this should be a standing protocol. One of which is being serious about studies. The students are focused and well-prepared to acquire the pass mark for admission. Another good reason is that it gives the institution a good reputation by producing the best candidates thereby making name for itself. For example ECWA school of nursing Egbe in Nigeria admits the best from thousands of applicants each academic year. Relatively, the school produces the best of nurses in Nigeria. Hence this makes intending Nursing students prepare well for such opportunity.

However, others felt irrespective of ages and academic performance, students should be admitted into higher institutions. they believe everybody have an equal rights in the society, so no one should be deprived the right to education. The proponents of this claimed that a special course for training institution should be established for individuals that are slow learners, or are of age. For example, the unified Tertiary Matriculation (UTME) board have organised its examination in such a way that every aspiring undergraduates gets admission into any institution by reducing its Mark to 120points for colleges of education at least. Hence, everybody is offered an admission.

In conclusion, there is a difference of opinion as to whether students are offered admission into higher institution based on academic performance and ages. In my opinion, excellent academic performance should be considered while offering admission to aspiring under graduates as this will make them devoted to their studies and subsequently promoting the image of the institution.