Some people are of the opinion that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others believe that advertisements tells us about new products that may improve our lives.

What is your opinion about this?

People hold different views when discussing issues relating to advertisement. While some people believe it propels the public to purchase what is not needed, others, on the other hand holds a belief it enlightens us about things that will benefit us. Personally, I think such publication makes us go overboard as what we finally purchase are totally useless most times.

There are compelling reasons why I believe that product promotion moves us to buying things that are mostly not useful. Firstly, the advertisement comes in a convincing and beautiful way. This tends to happen when these companies present their products in an attractive way without showing us the drawback. For instance, as a first time expectant mother, most of the things we buy while awaiting our baby's arrival is a Baby cot which usually becomes useless when the baby finally arrives as babies rarely sleep calmly in it.

Secondly, some announcement comes with discount. This usually happens when some companies or superstores are auctioning their supplies. People tends to many things especially the ones with very low prices without checking it's usefulness. For example, during last year Black Friday, my mother ordered for an high heeled shoe on the store's pamphlet because it was very cheap. She finally abandon it because she could not use it.

In conclusion, product promotion are done in a very attractive way and sometimes with discounted prices. All these make people to buy many things/products that are literally useless.