It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The trend of taking a year-long break between school and higher education is becoming popular. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Firstly, having a gap between school and university has several merits. Students can find a job and earn money to pay the university fee. By working, they get a practical experience rather than a theoretical experience. This prepares them to experience the problems faced in real-time situations. They can improve the necessary skills required to get into a good university. Students can follow the popularity trend of every stream of study offered by universities and join into a respective stream. They can start being independent to make their decisions. Another advantage is that they can take a break from the hectic curriculum and have a vacation to relax and rejuvenate which is necessary.

On the other hand, taking a break between studies also has disadvantages. If students joined a low paying job then they might limit themselves to it even after one year, instead of going to college. Some universities might not prefer their applications over others because of the gap year. There is a high chance of stopping education if a student lacks interest after one year. Another possibility is that students could forget the skills learned at school. Also, if they are not responsible then they might be addicted to bad habits. Furthermore, if students fail to get a job then it might affect their self-confidence and mental well-being.

In conclusion, having a break in between school and college is advantageous if the student is responsible and has the enthusiasm to learn. Else, it might be very disadvantageous to take a break.